What a Big Day Out.

So I’m pretty shitty at documenting my adventures but last week I ventured out to Big Day Out alongside my sister, and my 2 besties. Hiding our alcohol in biscuit and muesli boxes we were left to wonder how thorough they will search our bags. Clearly they weren’t thorough at all as our alcohol was let in. And matter of factly it was good we snuck in our alcohol as a vodka cruiser can was going to cost 3 tickets (an equivalent of $12 for one can, when at a bottlo you can purchase a four pack for $14).

Then off to Helena where we got our dance on, at first we thought she was Nina Las Vegas, then it clicked to us that she wasn’t. After a bit of a dance we decided to explore the Vodka Cruiser House Party, I had to leave my sister outside as she was under 18. She was a good sport through out the day and went off and saw a band while we indulged in a pricey beverage.

As we weren’t really that keen on the line up of BDO and the Chilli Peppers weren’t on till ages we went and danced solidly at a silent disco. Then it came time to see Vampire Weekend, playing their classic songs and us deciding that there will be no way that we will be going into the mosh for the Chilli Peppers.

My besties and I realised we still had some drink tickets that we had to use, so leaving my sister to watch the Yeah Yeah Yeahs we went and got a drink and I spent a good 30 minute wait in a line to go to the toilet (what is it with festivals and long girl toilet lines). My friends then decided they wanted to get slushies so that we can make them alcoholic so they rushed off to buy slushies whilst I started hearing the Killers play. Hearing the Killers and their first song Mr Brightside, I dashed off to try and find my sister in the crowd of people. I finally found her and was able to enjoy the set, with my besties finding us too.

Then it was what I had been waiting for all day and all my life. The Red Hot Chilli Peppers began to play and my god was it amazing. I even got on someones shoulders. They were playing the classics of Under the Bridge, Otherside, Can’t stop and during Suck my Kiss I had to pee again, knowing I wont be getting back to my spot, I went off to the bar and spent my last drink ticket and watched the Chilli Peppers and had a better view.

And this concludes my big day out and Australia Day where Macklemore’s Thrift Shop scored number 1 in the hottest 100.

Leave a Reply

